National Competition Council

Legislation Review Compendium

Fifth Edition

February 2004

ISBN 0-9751434-3-3

This work is subject to copyright. Apart from any use as permitted under the Copyright Act 1968, the work may be reproduced in whole or in part for study or training purposes, subject to the inclusion of an acknowledgement of the source. Reproduction for commercial use or sale requires prior written permission from AusInfo. Requests and inquiries concerning reproduction and rights should be addressed to the Manager, Legislative Services, AusInfo, GPO Box 1920, Canberra, ACT, 2601.

Inquiries or comments on this report should be directed to:

Communications Officer National Competition Council 9 / 128 Exhibition Street MELBOURNE VIC 3000

Ph: (03) 9285 7474 Fax: (03) 9285 7477 Email: info@ncc.gov.au

An appropriate citation for this paper is:

National Competition Council 2004, Legislation Review Compendium, Fifth edition, February 2004, AusInfo, Canberra.

The National Competition Council

The National Competition Council was established on 6 November 1995 by the Competition Policy Reform Act 1995 following agreement by the Commonwealth, State and Territory governments.

It is a federal statutory authority which functions as an independent advisory body for all governments on the implementation of the National Competition Policy reforms. The Council's aim is to 'help raise the living standards of the Australian community by ensuring that conditions for competition prevail throughout the economy which promote growth, innovation and productivity'.

Information on the National Competition Council, its publications and its current work program can be found on the internet at www.ncc.gov.au or by contacting NCC Communications on (03) 9285 7474.

Table of contents

Abbreviations		1V
1	Introduction	1.1
2	Australian Government	2.1
3	New South Wales	3.1
4	Victoria	4.1
5	Queensland	5.1
6	Western Australia	6.1
7	South Australia	7.1
8	Tasmania	8.1
9	Australian Capital Territory	9.1
10	Northern Territory	10.1
11	Water	11.1
Appendix A Legislation review – clause 5 of the Competition Principles Agreement		A.1
	endix B Changes to National Competition icy Agreements (Council of Australian	
Governments November 2000)		B.1
Appendix C National Competition Policy contacts		C.1
References		R.1

Abbreviations

ABB Australian Barley Board

ACC Australian Communications Authority

ACCC Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

ACIS Automotive Competitiveness and Investment Scheme

ACT Australian Capital Territory

ACTION Australian Capital Territory Internal Omnibus Network

ACTTAB Australian Capital Territory Totalizator Agency Board

ADC Australian Dairy Corporation

AGL Australian Gas Light Company

AHC Australian Horticulture Corporation

AHMAC Australian Health Ministers Advisory Council

AHMC Australian Health Ministers Conference

ANZFA Australia New Zealand Food Authority

ANZMEC Australian and New Zealand Minerals and Energy Council

APMVA Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority

APRA Australian Prudential Regulation Authority

AQIS Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service

ARMCANZ Agriculture and Resource Management Council of Australia

and New Zealand

ARPANSA Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency

ATC Australian Transport Council

AWB Australian Wheat Board

AWBI AWB (International) Ltd

BIC Banana Industry Committee

BMA Brisbane Market Authority

BRC Bookmakers Revision Committee

CAA Capital Assistance Authorities

CAC Community Ambulance Cover

CBH Co-operative Bulk Handling Limited

CCA Conduct Code Agreement

CGS Commonwealth Grants Scheme

CIE Centre for International Economics

CN Competitive neutrality

CoAG Council of Australian Governments

CPA Competition Principles Agreement

CPI Consumer price index

CRR Committee on Regulatory Reform

CSO Customer Service Obligation

CTP Compulsory Third Party

DHA Defence Housing Authority

DMS Domestic Market Support

EFIC Export Finance and Insurance Corporation

EPA Environmental Protection Agency

FAG Financial Assistance Grant

FSANZ Food Standards Australia New Zealand

FTA Free trade agreement

GBE Government business enterprise

GPO General Post Office

GPWA Grain Pool of Western Australia

HACC Home and Community Care

HEC Hydro-Electric Commission

HELP Higher Education Loans Programme

HP(H)C Hastings Port (Holding) Corporation

ICRC Independent Competition and Regulatory Commission

(ACT)

IDC Interdepartmental Committee

IPART Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (NSW)

IRG Industry Reference Group

ITSA Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia

kW Kilowatt

LPG Liquid Petroleum Gas

LRP Legislation Review Program

MCCA Ministerial Council on Consumer Affairs

MIA Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area

MPC Melbourne Port Corporation

MRA Mutual Recognition Agreement

MW Megawatt

NCC National Competition Council

NCP National Competition Policy

NDRP National Directory for Radiation Protection

NOHSC National Occupational Health and Safety Commission

NOIE National Office of Information Economy

NRA National Registration Authority

NRTC National Road Transport Commission

NSW New South Wales

NT Northern Territory

NTGPASS Northern Territory Government and Public Authorities

Superannuation Scheme

ORR Office of Regulation Review

OWP Office of Water Policy

OWR Office of Water Regulation

PAR Performance Assessment Regime

PAWA Power and Water Authority

PBT Public benefit test

PC Productivity Commission

QBSA Queensland Building Services Authority

QCSC Queensland Corrective Services Commission

QIC Queensland Investment Corporation

QIRC Queensland Industrial Relations Commission

QR Queensland Rail

RCL Ricegrowers' Co-operative Limited

REA Rice Export Authority

RIS Regulatory/Regulation Impact Statement

RMB Rice Marketing Board

SA South Australia

SCAG Standing Committee of Attorneys-General

SCARM Standing Committee of Agriculture and Resources

Management

SIP Strategic Investment Program

TAB Totalizator Agency Board

TABCORP Totalizator Agency Board Corporation

TCF Textiles, clothing and footwear

TAC Transport Accident Commission

TCV Treasury Corporation of Victoria

TDIA Tasmanian Dairy Industry Authority

TGA Therapeutic Goods Administration

TGIO Tasmanian Government Insurance Office

TPA Trade Practices Act 1974

TTMRA Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement

VCA Victorian Channels Authority

VFF Victorian Farmers Federation

WA Western Australia

WAIRC Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission

WEA Wheat Export Authority

WRC Water and Rivers Commission